Home

Fictitious Dressing: Fashion & the Tale: “From Christian Grey to Jay Gatsby, Alina Kulesh explores the influence of literary heroes in current fashion collections – illustrating the thin line between fiction and fashion.” (The Genteel)

This essay gave me the opportunity to read a few pages of Fifty Shades of Grey, which I otherwise would’ve never done. What did I learn? The character of Anastasia Steele seems to lack self-confidence. But, I hear that Christian Grey, throughout the book, whips some into her. (See what I did there? Yup, that’s a pun.)

Honestly, I am so blessed to be given the opportunity to write about these types of topics. Fiction, to me, is like candy for the mind and fashion is that to the eye. Although I absolutely loved the elegance and amazing tailoring of Hackett London and the out-of-the-box designs of  Walter van Beirendonck, my favourite collection in this article is Francesco Scognamiglio’s S/S 2013. I could live in those amazing frocks. Also, have you ever read J.M Barrie’s Peter Pan as an adult? It’s full of sexual innuendos that you probably (and hopefully) didn’t catch on to as a child. When I was re-reading the book I was a little bit shocked that the innocent story of my childhood wasn’t innocent at all. Barrie wrote this book for adults and children, so that the adults kept entertained while reading bedtime stories to their kids. Clever.

You can read the full article here.

Image: TheGenteel.com

Leave a Reply

