Home

Adam Kimmel & The Creative Spirit: Adam Kimmel’s unexpected sabbatical stunned the fashion world. Despite being a young designer, Kimmel is notoriously innovative and his presentations have earned him global recognition. His sudden departure spawns a debate on the nature of creativity, as well as how it can be nourished and prevented from early demise. (The Genteel)

Besides learning a lot about menswear–something admittedly, I don’t have a lot of knowledge on–writing this piece reminded me that to be creative is to take risks. Without doubt Kimmel took risks–dressing a man in a suit and sending him down to swim with the Great Whites isn’t exactly safe. His risk-taking was rewarded. Even when he didn’t outperform his last show or collection, his risk-taking watered down any failures.

Although I believe that creativity exists organically in us, I do enjoy reading books on creativity–its harvesting and nurturing. For this post, I’ve compiled some of my favourite books on creativity and inspiration–in no particular order!:

1. The Creative Habit: Learn it and Use it For Life by Twyla Tharp: I mention this book in the the article, but Tharp’s idea on creativity offers a mind-engaging experience on how to tame creativity and find your own creative groove. It took me awhile to get through this book because there’s just SO much to think about, reflect, and do. I find Tharp’s idea of creativity as a habit rather calming and I often turn to it in times of creative block or anxiety.

2. Whatever You Think, Think The Opposite by Paul Arden: This is a gem! This book doesn’t discuss creativity directly, but I found it to be very inspiring. There was a point in my life where I carried this book in my purse for three straight months–I would read and re-read whenever I got the chance. (I’ve blogged about it previously here.) Arden was the executive Creative Director of Saatchi and Saatchi and a strong advocate of risk-taking.

3. Magic Hours: Essays on Creators and Creations by Tim Bissell: I came upon this book while getting lost on BrainPickings.org (a regular occurrence). This book is composed of several essays in which creativity is dissected. Bissell really explores the highs and lows of creativity–and it’s reassuring to know that you are not the only one experiencing these! The essays take examples from some of the best creators, such as Hemingway and Werner Herzog.

4. Incomplete Manifesto for Growth by Bruce Mau: Although not a book (yet!?), Mau’sIncomplete Manifesto for Growthis not only inspiring but it’s extremely useful. These are practical and multi-level DOs and DON’Ts that can be applied to any creator. My favourites are #4 and #28. Yours?

5. Children’s Books: I adore children’s books; they are truly candy for the mind. Their simplicity and honesty is extremely refreshing–this is exactly why I find them so inspiring. My favourites include: The BFG by Roald Dahl and Olivia the Pig by Ian Falconer.

Don’t forget, you can read my full article, Adam Kimmel & The Creative Spirit, here!

Leave a Reply

