Home

Model: The Modern Powerhouse: From canvas to powerhouse, the modelling landscape is evolving and it’s up to the professionals to keep up. Alina Kulesh explores how Web 2.0 culture is equalizing the runway. (The Genteel)

Fashion has always been a very big part of my life. My mother was a Fashion Technician; she led a very fruitful business creating clothes for her clientele. Luckily, this also meant that my brother and I wore custom-made outfits earlier than we could remember. Her workspace was filled with magazines, especially Burda.

Growing up in the 90s, Supermodels dominated every image. I remember being in awe of these beautiful women never fully grasping the meaning of their dominance of our beauty ideal. When I became a teenager, I used to study the pages of monthly Vogues. Especially the editorials and advertisements; I would dissect the colour composition and draw conclusions on what is being “said”. But I didn’t care for the celebrities in the ads, I paid attention to models.  You see, I didn’t grow up in a celebrity infatuated society, they were not the signifier of the “ideal” to me.  Not to mention, growing up in Ukraine made North American celebrities kind of out of reach.

Writing this piece hit a few nostalgic notes, but most importantly it had also made me realize how much more autonomy social media has given everyone.  That’s simply why social media spun off so quickly–it makes participating individuals feel in control, heard, important, and validated. But that’s nothing new.

You can read the full piece on how Web 2.0 culture is equalizing the runway here.

 
One thought on “BTW Model: The Modern Powerhouse

  1. Pingback: BTW: An Affair To Remember « ImageCult

Leave a Reply

