Home

Architectural Romancing of Digital Media Art: “It used to be that one had to keep their voice down and wear their Sunday best to worship the artistic masters. But, the gallery and museum experience is evolving. Alina Kulesh takes a tour of the digital museum landscape.”

In first year University I took a really fascinating course: ARTH 123 Architecture In The Classical Tradition. Taught by a very animated and intellectual man, Professor du Prey, this course was not only educational and exciting (a rare combination in academia), but it altered my perspective on architecture. Ever since then, I define architecture as the interaction of people and physical space.

This perception, familiarity with gallery spaces and inescapable digitizing of our world, lead me to think about the adaptation (and lack there of) to digital media art.  Research was extremely grueling because there are very few physical spaces that are dedicated to digital art. Luckily my admiration for Sid Lee and Paris lead me to discover La Gaîté Lyrique, and my partner’s sharp mind steered me into the direction of the digital Van Gogh exhibit.

As I wrote this piece, I realized how terrifyingly elusive and undefined the digital media art territory is–its ghostly factor makes it virtually (no pun intended) impossible to create the perfect (formulaic) exhibit space.  My exploration also illuminated the importance of a dedicated physical space for Art–digital or not. Period. Physical spaces not only shelter the art, but they create a communal sensation for museum-goers.

Undeniably the museum space is altering and it is us —  the museum goers and art admirers — who are steering its direction.

Below is a video I stumbled upon while researching–a great example of a simple idea, great execution, and a little hint of magic:

Leave a Reply

